The idea of an Association of old students of the Polytechnic was first muted in June, 1983. With the encouragement and assistance of the then Rector of the Polytechnic, Dr. Pius Ighalo, ex-students of the Polytechnic who were members of staff of the Institution commenced formal activities under the platform of Auchi Polytechnic Alumni Association in October, 1983. By this time, the National Co-coordinating Committee chaired by Mr. Goodwill Arah, with Valentine Obasuyi as Secretary-General, was put in place. During the convocation ceremony of the Institution in May, 1984, the Association was formally launched. After the launching, the National Coordinating Committee immediately went into action with the formation of chapters- Kano chapter in 1987 and Auchi chapter in 1988. Three other chapters (Lagos, Ekpoma, and Sapele) were floated between 1989 and 1990.

Engr. Fidelis Arewa and his protem National Executive Council were appointed at this stage to take over from Mr. Goodwill Arah’s pioneering protem executive council. Suffice it to say that the Engr. Arewa’s Exco put together the maiden national constitution, which was ratified in September, 1990 at the First National Biennial Convention. It was at this convention that a substantive National Executive Council was elected.

Mr. Tom Aroyame became the first National President. Between 1990 and 1992 when the second National Convention took place, the Warri, Port Harcourt and Okpella chapters of the Association were constituted and launched.
The third National Convention which was held in October, 1993, threw up Chief Godwin Asudo (Sapele Chapter) was elected as the National President. However, his tenure was short lived, as he was succeeded by Mrs. O. D. Siakpebru of Warri Chapter in February, 1994 who held fort until October, 1995. Until date, she remains the first and only female Chief Executive Officer (National President) of the Alumni Association.

The forth National Convention which took place in October 1995 saw the emergence of Engr. Monday Omoregie (the then Managing Director of Bendel Cement Factory, Okpella), as the National President. He served out his term of two tenures until 1999.
The Sixth Biennial National Convention which was held in October, 1999, produced Mr. Peter Mamedu (Port Harcourt Chapter) as the National President. The Alumni Association attained a great milestone during his tenure.
Perhaps, the most revolutionary regime is Mr. Emmanuel Obaze’s which was born during the Seventh Biennial National Convention in October, 2001. It was during the regime’s tenure that the first phase of the Alumni House was constructed and put into use.

At the 9th Biennial National Convention in October, 2005, Sir John Ominike (Asaba Chapter) was elected as the National President. His tenure of two years witnessed the consolidation of the achievement of the immediate past executive Council.
The 10th Biennial Convention of 2007 saw Mr. Nnabundo Okpara of Lagos chapter elected as President. Chief Lance Momodu (Abuja chapter) assumed office as the National President at the 2011 National Convention.

The current National President – General is Mr. Godspower Omadhebor.