As the activities and general administration of the Alumni Association gained currency and gathered momentum, the need arose to institute a Board of Trustees (BOT) to oversee its affairs and chart the way forward for the positive growth of the Association.

The pioneer Board of Trustees (BOT) came into existence at the National Convention in October, 2007 during Nnabundo Okpara’s tenure as National President. The under listed persons were appointed as the pioneer members:

  • Emmanuel Obazee (late) – Chairman
  • Ben Omokhagbon (late) – Member
  • John Ominike (late) – Member

At the 2011 National Convention, Nnabundo Okpara and Sunday Osakwe were appointed as members to replace Ben Omokhagbon and John Ominike who had died earlier, Pa Obazee later died in June, 2020.

Pragmatic effort was made to register the Alumni Association as a legal entity with the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) in 2012/2013 during the administration of Chief Lance Momodu. Accordingly, the under listed names were submitted to C.A.C for the registration, viz:

  • Mr. Emmanuel Obazee (late) – Chairman
  • Mr. Nnabundo Okpara – Vice Chairman
  • Mr. Sunday Osakwe – Member
  • Chief Lance Momodu – Member

With doggedness and seriousness of purpose, the Alumni Association received the nod of the Corporate Affairs Commission and became a legal entity in 2014.

There was a consensus at the National Convention (February 2017), by National Executive Council (NEC); who voted to appoint Mr. Nwabuoku Ifeanyi Peter as the fifth member and Secretary of the BOT.

Others are George Osademe and Mr Joshua Omoregie.

The Current Chairman is Engr Nnabundo Okpara.